Kubler-Rose model’s of Grief (5 Stages)

Denial AngerBargainingDepressionAcceptance

The five stages of grief when a person know he is dying, that was first mentioned in Kubler-Rose‘s book On Death and Dying. Those 5 stages can be applied to personal loss too.

A recently biz screw-up left me going thru the same phases… except I am still stuck at the Depression stage (sigh) and waiting to get myself to the Acceptance stage so that I can move on.

Here’s a more descriptive meaning for the 5 Stages of Grief.

  • Denial – The “This can’t be real” stage.: “I’m not here, This isn’t happening.”
  • Anger – The “Why me?” stage.: “How dare you do this to me?!” (either referring to God, the deceased, or oneself)
  • Bargaining – The “If I do this, you’ll do that” stage.: “Just let me live to see my son graduate.”
  • Depression – The “Defeated” stage.: “I can’t bear to face going through this, putting my family through this.”
  • Acceptance – The “This is going to happen” stage.: “I’m ready, I don’t want to struggle anymore.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: